Ambassador Tigran Seiranian Comments upon the Adoption of the Resolution on the Armenian Genocide


Related pictures

Tigran Seiranian

Robin Böhnisch


Full album »

The adoption of the Resolution on the Armenian Genocide on 25th of April, 2017 by the Chamber of Deputies of the Parliament of the Czech Republic is undoubtedly the result of the long-term and determined work. Till now, there were several attempts to include that issue in the agenda of the Chamber of Deputies - in summer of 2016 and most recent on the 4th of April, 2017. Last time only 11 votes were missing to put the resolution for voting. There were number of serious circumstances impeding that process. However, Mr. Robin Böhnisch from Social-Democratic Party and the Chairman of the Czech-Armenian Inter-Parliamentary friendship group initiated and put to voting the draft resolution on the matter. 126 Members of the Parliament participated in the voting, of whom 104 voted in favour and 22 abstained. Parliamentarians who voted in favour of the resolution represent all 7 factions of the Chamber of Deputies of the Parliament of the Czech Republic and the group of the independent deputies.

I would like to express my deepest appreciation to the President of the Czech Republic, H.E. Mr. Miloš Zeman, to all our Czech friends: parliamentarians and representatives of the civil society and those members of the Armenian Parliament who vigorously contributed to the cause of adopting that historical document.

I wish to especially underline the significant role of the Armenian community of the Czech Republic, which by its consistent activities, within a short period of time succeeded to achieve much respect and recognition in this country, thus making itself visible and its voice heard by the authorities. I am grateful for their cooperation.

With the adoption of this resolution, which condemns also the Holocaust, Genocides of the Gypsies, Slavs and other nations, the Czech Parliament reconfirmed its adherence to high values of democracy, human rights and justice.

official website